Captains' Charity

February 18 2019

Macmillan Cancer Support was Wells Golf Club's nominated Charity in 2018 and a total of £7,500 was collected. The majority was raised on the Wells Golf Club Charity Day which was organised by the Club Captain Colin Mantle, Ladies Captain Cath Levell and Seniors Captain John Moxon.

The money was raised through competition entries, hole sponsorship and auctions.

The Wells’ members provided money from mixed, ladies and senior matches and roll ups. The Captains also had a Charity Bunker and 'out of bounds' area with a fine of £1 for entering these hazards.

The club would like to thank everyone who contributed to this amazing amount.

Mark Tobin chairman of Macmillan Cancer Support for Wells & District expressed how overwhelmed he was by the kindness and generosity of everyone at the Club. He said, “This is a staggering amount of money raised and will all be used locally within the Wells and Mendip area to help support people living with cancer.

 Macmillan offer Medical, Emotional, Practical and financial support to cancer sufferers and their families. Without the help and support of the local community our work would simply not be possible. I would like to extend my most heartfelt thanks to Colin, Cath and John along with all the members and guests of Wells Golf Club for raising this amount of money.”

Stragglers Charity

November 27 2018

Presentation of Cheque of £406 given to the Dorset and Somerset Air Ambulance.

Thank you for all the players contributions during the matches.

Seniors Somerset Bowl Final - WINNERS

October 20 2018

Wells GC team took on Farrington Park in the final of the Seniors` Somerset Bowl recently, at Mendip GC. The weather was amazing considering the time of year, starting off under a blue sky. The wind got up as time went on and the temperatures dropped, making the conditions no easier.

First out Nick Carter and Mike Magrath, and second out Bill McCollum and Andy Williams made short work of their opponents, both winning 4&3. Captain Glen Crocker and Nick Wilson had a comfortable afternoon, never behind and winning 5&4 to clinch the match quite quickly. Fourth out Tim Harris and Martin Waller had a mountain to climb, giving nine shots. They were up to the job and triumphed 2&1.

The middle match, featuring Martin Barnes and Steve Clark against formidable opponents, quickly went 4 down. The Wells players fought back to get a fantastic half.

This meant that Wells won the match 4.5 to 0.5 and became 2018 Somerset Seniors` Bowl winners, the second time the club have won the trophy. Thanks to the few brave people who turned up and supported both teams.

Congratulations to all players who played in the Wells Seniors' team. Well done.

Seniors Somerset Bowl Winners 2018

Cyder Cup 2018

August 27 2018

The overall winners of the Cyder Cup which is held over two days and two courses Wells GC and Farrington Park), were Alan Todd and George Barrow with 89 points, collecting £100 each.

Other Wells winners were Phil Slater and Paul Griffiths were 4th. Colin Mantle and Vic Burgoyne were 1st home team on day one with Glynis Slater and Tina Davies Best visitors team day two. Peter and Diane Ramsay were the best mixed team day two.

This competition was started in 2010 and the second day will be at Wells next year.

Full results can be seen on the Opens page

Club Captain's Day

August 17 2018

Colin Mantle’s Captain’s Day was a roaring success with everyone enjoying themselves.

The first two teams both had 48 points with Rod Patch and Gerald Tonkins winning on countback. The first placed men’s team were Kelvin Parsons and John Blench and the first ladies team were Rosemary Hallett and Phyllis Lewison. Jill and Steve Bocquet were the first mixed team.

Nearest the pin prizes went to Tina Davies, John Hockey, John Chillington and Erica Klim.

Nearest the Pin in 2 winners were Ashton Wylie and Tina Davies.

Rod Patch and Gerald Tonkins are congratulated by Club Captain Colin Mantle on winning first prize.